Waiting

I love my iPhone. It’s over 2 years old, but I still love it. I just got a new game called, “Draw Something”.http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/draw-something-free/id488628250?mt=8

It’s sort of like Pictionary with a touch screen. For the last month or so I was obsessed with, “Words with Friends”, which is a sort of crossword puzzle game. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.zynga.words

I have found that the smart phone has made me much more patient during wait times. While waiting on lunch I check Facebook. While waiting on a doctor’s appointment I play, “Draw Something”. In fact, I had an orthopedist appointment this past summer; the office was running 90 minutes behind schedule. The waiting room was jammed. I counted 28 people looking irritated, waiting on the doctors. There were not enough chairs, some people were in the hall, and some sat on the floor. Many of us started to grouse about the long wait, and ask each other, “What time was your appointment supposed to be?”

Back before smart phones I am sure the more brazen of us would have been haranguing the front desk about their poorly run schedule. Instead, we’d burry our heads in our phones, look up occasionally, laugh or complain to each other about the long wait, then back to the phone, pacified electronically,  like a baby with a binky.

Here at the dental office we run on time, so the smart phone revolution has not helped our reception area. That’s right, we don’t have a waiting room we have a reception area, because we see patients on time.  We have had more than one patient who has come in a bit early, and when I thank them for coming in early they said, “You have a good selection of magazines; I like to get here early to read them.” Some have even been a tad disappointed when we take them back early. “Oh, I wanted to read People Magazine”, I heard one woman sheepishly admit. No one would have a subscription to that at home (would they?), but it’s a guilty pleasure here.

So if you are stuck with a physician that’s running 90 minutes late check out the Draw Something and Words With Friends Apps; they’re fun! If you‘d like to have a dentist who will see you on time give us a call. 703-532-1712 FallsChurchSmiles.com

 

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

