Forget Floss

Periodontal/gum disease is a big problem. According to a, “Dentistry Today” October 2012 headline, “Nearly Half of US Adults Have Some Level of Periodontitis”. I’m not surprised, we see it every day in the dental office, and I see it every day in my personal life. Most people think the key is flossing, but it’s not. There are two big keys and a few little details, but I am going to focus on the two big keys to preventing periodontal/gum disease.

First forget floss, use toothpicks between all of your teeth every day, and time yourself when you brush. Be sure you brush for two full minutes. Do these two things and you will have healthy teeth and gums that last a lifetime and you will save a fortune at the dental office. It’s really that easy. There are some other details I’d be happy to discuss with you, about tooth pastes, brushes etc., but really it’s as simple as brushing for 2 full minutes and tooth picking between all of your teeth every day.

Every time I try to write about oral hygiene and gum disease I end up writing too much. I love this subject, and I could talk about it for hours. So I am going to make this short and if you have questions you can call me and I’ll talk to you all day about this if you like. 703-532-1712 FallsChurchSmiles.com

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

