Resolution Number Three

This is the third New Year’s resolution blog I have written, and it’s getting embarrassing as my 2011 and 2012 resolutions were not huge successes. My resolution in 2011 was to speak more quietly, and 2012 was to cook more and eat out less. But here I sit, leftovers from Chevy’s warming in the toaster oven, petting my dog, but talking to her as if she is across the street. You want to go for a walk?! Good dog!

This year is going to be different. I have been working on a novel for a couple years (really more like a couple weeks if you add up all the time I have actually put into it over the last couple years) and I have 34,000 words written. My goal is 50,000 words.

Why 50,000, is what many people ask.  It’s because novels are usually fifty to a hundred thousand words and, as my past resolutions have shown, I am not an overachiever. I have a friend who thought that word count was terribly arbitrary, ‘a story is as long as it takes to tell it’, she said. And I don’t totally disagree, but that’s a story, not a novel. If you set out to write a pop song you probably want to shoot for 2-3 minutes. If you write a sonnet it will have 14 lines and 140 syllables, or you didn’t write a sonnet. If you want to write a movie you should plan on it being 90-120 minutes long. So yes, 50,000 words is rather arbitrary, but that is indeed the length of a short novel.

So once I finish posting this blog my goal is to write another 1000 words on my novel. If you have any New Year’s resolutions I’d love to hear them, and as always, if you need a good dentist give us a call 703-532-1712 FallsChurchSmiles.com

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolution Number Three

  1. Donald Doggett says:

    Hi, Rita & I used to go to your office in 1992-1994. You and I were in the Safe Motorcycle class circa 1993ish… (yup, time flies). Keep up your goal! It took me 20 full years to finally own a rental home, which was about 19 years longer than I thought it would take.
    Rita & I always remember you as a very happy and smiling member of the office. Your friends now in NJ.

    • Hi Don, nice to hear from you!
      Congrats on the home.
      Time really does fly. I still feel I am a better car driver because of the motorcycle class, but I haven’t ridden since 1995. Do you still ride?
      We are all still smiling here at the dental office. Please stop by if you and Rita are ever in the DC area. There will always be cup of coffee here with your names on it.
      🙂
      Alison

Leave a Reply

