Deca-dent

I love old movies and I was recently re-watching, “Butterfield 8” which I blogged about March 28, 2011 at the time of Elizabeth Taylor’s death. I hadn’t seen the movie for years before I blogged about it, and the way I remembered it was a tad incomplete.

In the blog I wrote, “In this movie she brushes her teeth – for about five seconds”. Which is true, but what I had forgotten, or maybe didn’t notice on first viewing, was that she’s brushing her teeth with scotch! I love having a DVR; I re-wound it to be sure of what I was seeing and sure enough, she takes a swig of scotch from a highball glass and sticks a toothbrush, presumably not her own, into her mouth.

You see she is a wanton, fallen woman and how better to illustrate that than her waking in her married paramour’s apartment, walking around in her underwear, booze in hand,  her ablutions consisting entirely of brushing her teeth with scotch. In creative writing teachers often say to, “show don’t tell”. This scene is indeed showing us just how decadent the character is.

While scotch has a lot of alcohol in it, much like mouthwash does, I think it’s probably a bad idea to brush with it. After all there is no fluoride in scotch, and I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t freshen breath. So remember, brush for two full minutes, use a fluoride toothpaste, and give us a call if you have any questions 703-532-1712  FallsChurchSmiles.com

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

