Alzheimer’s Alert

While I’ve never heard of, “Medical News Today” I found a really interesting article on their site today. You can check it out with this link  http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/283649.php . Since I am not aware of these folks I’ll take it with a grain of salt, but take it I will.  In this article they are linking Alzheimer’s disease with gum inflammation.

Dr. Urban, Beth and I have been discussing this and we all thought, once you get Alzheimer’s you probably forget to brush your teeth. So, duh, it’s the Alzheimer’s causing the gingivitis not the other way around. But this quote disputes that. “Furthermore, our hypothesis is strengthened by the recent results demonstrating that the chemicals released by the brain’s immune system in response to P. gingivalis reaching the brain ‘inadvertently’ damage functional neurons in the area of the brain related to memory.”

So I am not sure about this article, but one thing is for sure – I won’t be taking any chances. I’ll have healthy gums for as long as I can take care of my teeth.

If you’d like to discuss this or any dental issues, give us a call. 703-532-1712  FallsChurchSmiles.com

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

