Smoking Is Stupid

Smoking cigarettes is one of the stupidest things a person can do. I have had so many relatives die from diseases caused by cigarettes – emphysema, cancer, cardio vascular disease. This past year one of my aunts died of lung cancer, and she wasn’t the first one. I have an uncle and another aunt chained to oxygen tanks due to emphysema, which my grandfather died from. These are not pretty deaths, and each one can be directly connected to the cigarettes they poisoned themselves with. I grew up in a haze of cigarette smoke as everyone in my mother’s family smoked, chain smoked, in the house. It was disgusting.

When I think of all the money my relatives squandered on this addiction, that killed or is killing them, it just makes me so angry. Another huge cost is the actual illnesses. Not only is it an ugly death, it’s a very expensive death. It’s not like they just drop dead one day, they are sick and in the hospital for months and years before they finally succumb.

So when I found this article on Science Daily.com I bought right into it. “The Roman-British population from c. 200-400 AD appears to have had far less gum disease than we have today” is the opening line. http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2014/10/141023193529.htm. The article is contributing this to the fact that modern Brits are smokers, but 2000 years or so ago they were not. So one more rock-solid reason not to smoke, it contributes to periodontal disease.

That’s it – Don’t smoke. Don’t start. Don’t continue. Don’t smoke. But if you have any dental needs or questions please do call us 703-532-1712 FallsChurchSmiles.com

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

