Armed To the Teeth

During our New Year’s break I went to the gun show at the Dulles Expo Center with a law enforcement friend of mine. It was the first time I ever went to such an event, and it was pretty much what you’d expect – a bunch of men, many wearing camo, and a lot of guns. Although I did find some things that I didn’t expect – pink guns, purple guns, booths selling jewelry, cicadas encased in Lucite, an Enigma machine, and the thing that really caught my eye was a huge need for dental care. The men there could keep our office busy for a year or more just taking care of the dental needs in that room. I say the men there as there were very few women, and the few women that I saw looked pretty good.

I was wondering what would account for this lack of dental care. I mean clearly these men have a few bucks. They have enough money to have guns, many of which were quite costly. But their teeth so often were quite a mess. I saw missing teeth on many of these guys, and if they had all their teeth they were often discolored and snaggle-toothed.

I’ve only ever noticed one person come to the dental office with a sidearm, and he was in law enforcement. Although we’ve had plenty of police officers as patients, I’ve just never noticed them carrying while they were here. And they all seemed to have fine teeth. So I don’t think the connection is cops and bad teeth, but there did seem to be a connection between this gun show and bad teeth.

Regardless of your armament situation, if you have any dental needs we can help you with that. Just give us a call 703-532-1712 FallsChurchSmiles.com

 

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

